Four FCA Models win Model Loyalty Awards from IHS Markit

January 30th, 2018 by

Aventura CJDR Four FCA Model Loyalty

Every year, a company called IHS Markit does a study to measure the loyalty some customers have for brands and models. For the 2017 model year study, and FCA vehicles did well with four of their models. The Jeep Grand Cherokee, Jeep Wrangler, Ram 1500, and the Dodge Challenger were all recognized for customer loyalty.

The Information Handling Services Markit

The Information Handling Services Markit, or “IHS Markit” for short, is like many analysis companies out there that collect information on a specific financial market and then present their analysis of that information to businesses in the industry of that financial market. They collect information for business in aerospace, defense and security, chemical, energy, maritime and trade, technology, and the automotive industry.

For the auto industry, each year, the IHS Markit analyzes millions of new vehicle registrations to research and analyze automotive shopping behaviors, market influences, and owner loyalty. How can a business measure a customer’s loyalty? Good question, and it’s actually a lot more simple than one would think. The IHS Markit determines a customer’s loyalty to a brand or model through observation. When a household owns a new vehicle and then returns to the auto market to purchase or lease a new vehicle of the same make, model, or manufacturer, then that equals loyalty.

2017 Results

In the 2017 model year, the IHS Markit analyzed nearly 17.5 million new vehicle registrations and found four models by the Fiat Chrysler Automobile (FCA) Group have some of the highest model loyalty amongst their results. That’s not much of a surprise – it’s easy for people to be loyal to FCA brands because FCA makes great products and offers a variety of vehicles across different segments. FCA knows that some consumers are muscle car enthusiasts, some people love going off-road, and others just want a strong SUV that will get them from point A to point B while hauling a ton of cargo.

Jeep® Grand Cherokee

With 25 years under its belt, the Jeep Grand Cherokee is celebrated as the most awarded SUV ever. The Jeep Grand Cherokee also has the highest model loyalty in the non-luxury mid-size SUV segment for the fourth year in a row. Known for its ability to go off-road with its available 4×4 systems, Quadra-Lift air suspension system, and class-leading Selec-Terrain traction management system, drivers can handle any type of terrain with complete confidence. This was also the ninth time the Jeep Grand Cherokee had the highest model loyalty since the IHS Markit Automotive Loyalty Awards began.

Jeep Wrangler

Not to be confused with the new 2018 Jeep Wrangler JL, the Jeep Wrangler JK won the non-luxury compact SUV segment for the IHS Markit’s analysis of the 2017 model year. This off-road warrior also had the highest model loyalty in its class for the second year in a row. Known as the most capable off-road vehicle in the world, the Jeep Wrangler is as iconic as the brand itself, tracing its roots all the way to the first Jeep Wrangler made for the army, and then later designed for civilian use. For more than seven decades, the Jeep Wrangler has delivered unmatched off-road capability with legendary four-wheel drive and 4×4 systems.

Ram 1500

Ram trucks have been doing great lately, especially with the recent debut of the 2019 Ram 1500 at the 2018 Detroit Auto Show. For the second consecutive year, the Ram 1500 light duty pickup truck had the highest model loyalty in the non-luxury full-size half-ton pickup segment. Proven to last for 30 years, Ram has had the highest percentage of pickup trucks still on the road today. With numerous segment-exclusive or class-leading features in areas most important to truck buyers (such as active-level four-corner air suspension, five-link coil rear suspension, and the RamBox cargo management system), model loyalty is clear with the Ram 1500.

Dodge Challenger

Is it really any surprise that people love the Dodge Challenger? Out of all the pony cars, even with competitors like the Chevrolet Corvette and the Ford Mustang, the Dodge Challenger has the highest model loyalty in the non-luxury mid-size sport segment for the sixth time since the IHS Markit Automotive Loyalty Awards started. Being that the 2018 Dodge Challenger SRT Demon debuted in April 2017 at the 2017 New York International Auto Show and took orders soon after, Dodge surely blew the competition away for the 2017 model year. An icon of muscle cars, the Dodge Challenger will always be a muscle car enthusiasts favorite, and this award proves it.

What say you? Did the IHS Markit get it right? You can find your own Jeep Grand Cherokee, Jeep Wrangler, Ram 1500, or Dodge Challenger at Miami Lakes Automall today.

Photo Source/Copyright: ISH Markit and Chrysler Ad Planner
Posted in Dodge, FCA News, Jeep, Ram